NC welcomes release of Dr Abdullah

JAMMU: Jammu and Kashmir National Conference on Friday welcomed the release of the five-time chief minister and party President Dr Farooq Abdullah, urging the government to also release all other political leaders against whom there are no criminal charges. A joint statement issued by senior party leaders led by Provincial President Devender Singh Rana, from Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan here on Friday afternoon, stated that National Conference has always been a strong votary of democracy and secularism, adding that the release of Dr. Farooq Abdullah will pave the way for reinitiating genuine political activity so that democracy gets strengthened in Jammu & Kashmir.
Later, interacting with media, Provincial President Rana said Dr Farooq Abdullah is a symbol of mainstream politics in Jammu and Kashmir. He said to have senior political leader like Dr. Farooq Abdullah booked and detained under Public Safety Act was unfortunate. He further said we welcome this decision of the Government to release Dr Farooq Abdullah who has always worked to strengthen democracy and democratic values in J&K.
The National Conference leaders urged the government to release party Vice President Omar Abdullah, PDP President Mehbooba Mufti and other political detenues in the larger interest of democracy.
Besides Provincial President Devender Singh Rana, the signatories to the joint statement included Ajay Kr. Sadhotra, Surjeet Singh Slathia, Rattan Lal Gupta, Mushtaq Ahmed Bukhari, Th Rachpal Singh, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Javed Ahmed Rana , Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo, Babu Rampaul, Abdul Gani Malik, Dr. Chaman Lal Bhagat, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Brij Mohan Sharma, Ajaz Jan, Tarlochan Singh Wazir, Jagjeevan Lal, Jugal Mahajan, Gurdeep Singh Sasan , Mohinder Singh, Rahim Daad, Haji Mohd Hussain, Master Noor Hussain, Sheikh Abdul Rehman, Mohd Iqbal Bhat, Bimla Luthra, Deepender Kour, Swarn Lata, Satwant Kour Dogra, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Pradeep Bali, Vijay Lakshmi Dutta, Anil Dhar, Bhushan Lal Bhat, Wali Dad, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Rita Gupta Sajjad Shaheen, Vijay Lochan, Abdul Gani Teli, Ch. Haroon, Chander Mohan Sharma and Som Nath Khajuria.