World Meteorological Department’s nominated Regional Meteorological Centre viz India Meteorological Department (IMD) which besides sharing weather forecasts for India also provides severe weather warnings to Pakistan, Afghanistan, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Myanmar, Nepal and Bhutan has in a very apt move started including Gilgit-Baltistan and Muzaffarabad, the region occupied by Pakistan, under the Jammu and Kashmir meteorological sub-division since May 5, 2020. The decision is of great significance as far as central dispensation’s firm stand on the issue of Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK) is concerned. A clear cut departure from its earlier format, the IMD’s decision in wake of Pakistan Supreme Court allowing elections in Gilgit-Baltistan this week and India strongly objecting to the development will surely have certain ramifications which ought to give new direction to already hostile relationship between India and Pakistan. The Centre’s stance that the Pakistan-occupied-Kashmir (PoK) belongs to India which it has fortified through a unanimous resolution adopted by both houses of the Indian Parliament on February 22, 1994 emphasising that Jammu and Kashmir was an integral part of India, and that Pakistan must vacate parts of the State under its occupation. With the Narendra Modi-led BJP government coming to power and subsequent strong policy adopted to tackle Pakistan on various issues including Jammu and Kashmir like surgical strikes, Balakot attack, strong retaliation against Pakistani soldiers at LoC and International Border, this move by the IMD also seems to the another right step in the direction to fizzle out the J&K issue which Pakistan off and on used to give undue hype at various forums during bilateral talks and also internationally. Earlier, after bifurcation of J&K State into UTs J&K and Ladakh the IMD has been mentioning areas falling in PoK under its daily weather bulletin but now the same are being explicitly shown under the Jammu and Kashmir Sub Division with main cities of PoK finding a place in the overall forecast of the Northwest Division comprising nine sub divisions including Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Delhi-Chandigarh-Haryana, Punjab, east Uttar Pradesh, west Uttar Pradesh, east Rajasthan and west Rajasthan.