JAMMU: The Centre for New Literature, Culture and Communication in collaboration with Kunwar Viyogi Memorial Trust (KVMT) organised a poetry symposium ‘Wings of Verse: A Multilingual Poetry Symposium’ at University of Jammu.
Dr Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar JU was the Chief Guest on the occasion. In her address, she congratulated organisers for holding such literary activities that provide platform to students for showcasing their talent. Since university education aims at the holistic development of young minds, such events become an integral part of the education, she said, assuring people that the University of Jammu shall always extend full support for such activities.
Earlier, the programme commenced with lighting of ceremonial lamp by the dignitaries with Saraswati Vandana as accompaniment. It was followed by the formal welcome address by Prof Monika Sethi, Head, Department of English who outlined the purpose and structure of literary event. She stressed upon the importance of symposia, seminars and other literary activities and reiterated commitment of the department to provide varied platforms for its students.
Ayushman Jamwal, representative KVMT, enlightened audience about activities of the Trust. A number of students and scholars from various departments of the University participated in the symposium regaling the audience with an array of splendid poetry recitals in six languages including Hindi, English, Urdu, Dogri, Gojri and Punjabi. The event was moderated by Ayushman Jamwal, a published poet himself, who punctuated the symposium with his own compositions. It was followed by recitation of the celebrated English sonnets of Kuwar Vyogi, by scholars of the English department.
A number of students, who have achieved acclaim in cultural, literary as well as sports activities were also felicitated on the occasion. The formal vote of thanks was presented by Ayushman Jamwal.
Others present on the occasion included Prof Satnam Kour Raina, Principal IMFA; Prof Sucheta Pathania, Dr Ravinder Singh, Dr Sadaf Shah, Dr Subhash Chander Sharma, Dr Garima Gupta, Pradeep Kumar, Dr Pallavi Gupta and Dr Divya Sharma. The proceedings of the event were done by Nazish Nawaz Wani.