JAMMU: Former Minister and Senior Congress leader Raman Bhalla on Saturday reiterated to waive off the water and electricity bills for the next one year in view of COVID-19 outbreak.
He said with all sections of the society having been economically hit due to the coronavirus pandemic and the government needed to show compassion and provide special succour particularly to the financially distressed poor and marginalized sections of the society.
“The labourers, the farmers, the small traders, the self employed, taxi transport and auto operators, the Rehri and Phari owners have been worst affected due to lengthy lockdown and no source of earnings during the last more than two months. With the poor sections having exhausted all their savings, they are finding it hard to make both ends meet while at the same time having to pay various kinds of cess and tariffs,” he added.
Bhalla asked Government to come up with concrete relief measures for a larger section of the society whose livelihood has got affected by lockdown imposed by the authorities in view of Coronavirus outbreak in Jammu and Kashmir.
Former Minister urged the Lieutenant Governor G.C Murmu led administration to ensure all basic amenities especially water and power supply to the people of Jammu and Kashmir facing impact of Covid-19.
Meanwhile Former Minister continued ration items distribution among needy families of Gandhi Nagar constituency.
In this regard, he distributed eatables among needy families at Panchayat Bathindi, Panchayat Narwal, Raika, Sagar Mohalla, Jatki Mohalla, Doongian Kulian, Rajiv Nagar in Nalla Mohalla, Bhalessar, Chacha Chowk and Narwal Bala. Prominent among those who accompanied Bhalla include Sarpanch Hafeez Hualla, Sarpanch Sefia Akhtar, Corporater Sobhat Ali, Bittu Sharma, Block President Jatinder Singh Chib, Dcc General Secretary Urban Aman Bawa, DCC General Secretary Urban Jatin Vashisht, Ch. Putto, Uttam Singh, Panch Shukar Din, Panch Ch. Iqbal Singh, Majeed, Ch. Naseem Ali, Molvi Anayat Ali, Panch Naseem Akhtar, Lamardar Mohd. Rafiq, GS Sodhi, Raj Kumar, Gagan Bral, Ravi Vema, Ramesh Kumar, Panch Shavani Devi, Gourab Kumar, Parash Ram, Harvinder Kour beside others.